Whanganui artists awarded

11 July 2018

Abbey Hocquard won the Young Photographer Award & Nathaniel Kirk won the Junior 2D Artist Award.

Whanganui and Ruapehu artists scooped plenty of prizes across age groups and categories at the Waimarino Art Awards this year.
Photos / Supplied

Whanganui artist Mike Marsh won the Life Study Award for his portrait of Castlecliff lawyer Jamie Waugh.

"It is the first time I have entered the awards," says Marsh.

"The portrait of Jamie is one of a set that included members of the Pussywhippers band.

"I have done similar portraits of Jack Mitchell-Anyon, Matt Edmonds and Nick Ericcson."

The Waugh portrait, has him wearing one of Marsh's bright, bold T-shirt designs.

Three school-aged Whanganui artists also won category prizes in the awards.

"I think its great that three out of the four Whanganui winners were under 18," said coordinator Paula Charlton.

"The future is bright for Whanganui arts."

Passenger by Abbey Hocquard
Passenger by Abbey Hocquard

Two Whanganui High School students won awards - Abbey Hocquard 17, won the Young Photographer Award for Passenger and Nathaniel Kirk 13, won the Junior 2D Artist Award for his drawing Beauty of Age.

Beauty of Age by Nathaniel Kirk
Beauty of Age by Nathaniel Kirk

Whanganui's youngest winner is 8-year-old Devika Mahdu who was awarded the Raetihi Primary School Junior Artist prize for her Woodland Fairy drawing.

"We would like to acknowledge our youngest award winners," said Charlton.

"Kobe Learmonth of National Park was awarded the Jenny Dekker prize for 5 to 9-year-olds in the 2D category for Remember Them and both these young artists really impressed the judges."

The Waimarino Art Awards is open to all and the 2018 premier prize went to Taupo artist Sue Graham for her painting He Ahi, He Tio (Fire and Ice).

Charlie Lynn of Taupo won the novice 3D award, Auckland painters Terry Prince and Jay Linden received awards, Raewyn Vanstone of Taumarunui won an open award and Steve Molloy of New Plymouth won the 3D award.

Ruapehu winners are James Cannon who received the Best Entry from Ruapehu District award for Tiki Auaha, Marcela Diaz who received the new Remarkable Ruapehu award for Ruapehu Sky, Jahna Pekamu won a Junior Artist Award for Elements and Shannah Terpstra received a young artist award for Destination: Nineveh.

Photography prize winners were Phyl Cameron of Horopito who won the sport and leisure category for Supporter Break, Marama Groot of Ohakune won the junior prize for Robin and Suraya Hollands of Ohakune won both the novice and general awards for The Darkest Nights and Haere Mai.

The final prize is the People's Choice Award which will be decided after visitors have cast their votes on Tuesday, July 17.

The awards turned 15 this year and Charlton said the generosity of sponsors means that a total of $7500 was awarded to 2018 winners with a top prize of $2000 for the premier award.

The Waimarino Art Awards exhibition is open for viewing at The Theatre Royal, 21 Seddon Street, Raetihi from 11am until 5pm and will close at 5pm on Saturday.

By Liz Wylie
Wanganui Chronicle 11/7/18